Dear Staff

Leave a comment

September 2, 2012 by Brad Currie

Dear Staff,

I would like to take the next few moments of your time to introduce myself as your new Middle School Dean of Students/Supervisor of Instruction. First and foremost I am extremely excited about joining such a wonderful, caring and innovative staff. When I tell people that I am going to be working in the Chester School District, the first words out of their mouths are “that’s an awesome place!” So as you can imagine, I am humbled to be working alongside of educators and various other school stakeholders who are committed to excellence and daring children to succeed each and every day. There is no doubt that we will continue to do great things for our students and I look forward to the challenge of reaching the high standards that have been set.

It has been by privledge over the past twelve years to be an educator in New Jersey. I started off my career as a social studies and computer education teacher at Memorial Junior School in Whippany, NJ. While there I was impacted by some outstanding educators and school leaders who helped me understand the notion of doing “what’s best for kids” each and every day. While there I served as team leader and coached girl’s basketball and softball. In fact we won the Morris County title in softball three times and had great success in basketball as well. I also served on the school’s character education committee, ran the Ellis Island and Constitution Center field trips and served as chaperone on various Outdoor Ed trips to Stokes State Forest, Camp Speers-Eljabar and Fairview Lake YMCA.

Then in 2009 I was fortunate enough to be hired by the Readington Township School District as the Middle School Vice Principal and Athletic Director. The exposure I had to innovation and technology was second to none and helped me to become an effective school leader. My experiences in Readington were varied as I led efforts to integrate a special education intervention program, implemented a school advisory program and exposed staff members to the importance of expanding their Personal Learning Networks. I will surely miss the outstanding educators and students, but know that I will feel right at home in Chester. On a lighter note, in both Whippany and Readington I had to endure the ridicule of Giants, Jets, Mets and Yankee fans who always had a hard time coming to the realization that the Phillies and Eagles are and always will be the better teams.

As for my family background, I am the proud father of two children Cooper and Sydney. Cooper will be entering first grade this school year and loves to play baseball and his Nintendo DS. Sydney just turned one in June and is loving life tearing up the house and putting things in her mouth. My awesome wife Leigh is a special education teacher for the South Hunterdon Regional School District in Lambertville, NJ and does an amazing job of balancing work with being a mother. We currently reside in Raritan Township which is located in Hunterdon County and love the supportive community and all it has to offer. I actually grew up in Lambertville, NJ and was fortunate enough to have outstanding parents who dared me to succeed each and every day. Much of who I am as it relates to treating people right was learned watching my father run our family business, Niece Lumber Incorporated.

In closing, I want you to know that I look forward to getting to know each and every one of you. The most important part of education to me is maintaining a positive school culture where we work together to promote the success of all students. I am passionate about the use of social media and technology to assist students and teachers to be the best they can be on a consistent basis. I am also a firm believer in treating people with respect and dignity, and promoting the ideals of empathy which in turn will contribute to the positive school atmosphere that we all envision. I do not claim to know everything and therefore look forward to working together with the wonderful school stakeholders of Chester to prepare students for the world they will enter in the near future. I will be officially joining the Chester School District and Black River Middle School on October 8. Until that time, I will make weekly visitations in order to acclimate myself to the new surroundings.

See you soon!

Brad

Follow me on Twitter @bcurrie5
“Like” the #Satchat Facebook Page
Access my website and blog at http://www.bcurrie.wordpress.com
Learn more about me here.

20120902-184901.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 47,912 hits
Brad Currie

Brad Currie

Brad Currie is the Middle School Dean of Students and Supervisor of Instruction for the Chester School District in Chester, NJ. He is the co-founder and co-moderator of #Satchat on Twitter. Brad is passionate educational technology and social media in the school setting.

View Full Profile →

brad.currie@gmail.com

Join 6,982 other followers

Teach100

NASSP: Leading Schools
