Leave of Absence

6

September 27, 2013 by Brad Currie

Earlier this week I was fortunate enough to have a Twitter conversation with Brian Knotts and Sean Junkins that focused on taking a leave of absence from social media. You often wonder what has happened to a person when they do not tweet for an extended period of time. Two questions pop into my head when I think about this: Did they die? or Are they mad at the world? Typically it is neither of these two scenarios thankfully and there are other less serious reasons. I was intrigued by the comment Sean made during our brief Twitter conversation which you can find below……

 

Image

What if we did take a month off to just listen to what others have to say on Twitter, LinkedIn, and other online forums? Do we feel obligated to post things all the time just for the sake of posting them? Personally, I really try to listen to what people are saying on Twitter as it helps with improving my craft as a lead learner. But sometimes I feel as though I am Tweeting too much and my words become less meaningful. I am not sure that I could take part in a “social media blackout” for the fear that my connectedness to my peers is strong now. Ironically, Connected Educators Month is taking placing in October. A question I pose to all of connected educators is this: What if we became unconnected for a period of time? How would we survive and improve? Scary to think about for some, but others live this fate each day because they know no other way. 

It will be interesting to see what comments are added to this particular blog post as it relates to the questions I have posed. In the past I have tried to disconnect for a few hours or a few days and it is quite difficult. Mainly because I feel as though I am missing out on the next big thing to hit the education world. So many great ideas have been shared since I became a connected educator in late 2011 that have impacted myself and others in so many ways. So I leave you with this question: Would you be able to take a leave of absence from Tweeting, Blogging, and Posting for an extended period of time and just listen to what others have to say? 

6 thoughts on “Leave of Absence

  1. iplantes says:

    This is very thoughtful Brad…I sometimes find myself panicking when I can’t be connected, when life is too busy, which is sad…it is wonderful to think about stepping back and just listen and even to just look at what is right around us to connect with….but my connections are so valuable to me professionally it is hard to stay away

  2. Leaves of absence are a necessary part of the process of growing as educators because it gives you breathing time. Time to absorb what is around you. Time to linger on conversations and reflect on where you are going. Time to ponder the bigger picture. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and making us think deeply about what we hear and how we need time to step back and reflect.

  3. Jim says:

    You pose some great questions. Taking time to reflect is important with all the SM available now a days. I do not know if I could do this. I have three out of state people that I rely on for SBG discussions. Would be an interesting experiment, though.

  4. I think it is appropriate and polite to share with your PLN that you are taking a Social Media Sabbatical, especially when you go from tweeting dozens of thoughts a day to none for weeks.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 47,677 hits
Brad Currie

Brad Currie

Brad Currie is the Middle School Dean of Students and Supervisor of Instruction for the Chester School District in Chester, NJ. He is the co-founder and co-moderator of #Satchat on Twitter. Brad is passionate educational technology and social media in the school setting.

View Full Profile →

brad.currie@gmail.com

Join 6,982 other followers

Teach100

NASSP: Leading Schools
